Top Military College
Top Military College
Facebook and Twitter
Facebook and Twitter
Distance Ed 2
Distance Ed 2
Now earn your Business Management Degree online!
Now earn your Business Management Degree online!
SmarThinking
SmarThinking
Register Today! Classes begin Jan. 6th
Register Today! Classes begin Jan. 6th
EmailEmail  PrintPrint  a a a

Tuition and Fees

SEMESTER HOUR

TUITION

FEES*

TECHNOLOGY
FEE

INSTRUCTIONAL
FEE

TOTAL

 1

$89.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$322.00

 2

$178.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$411.00

 3

$267.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$500.00

 4

$356.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$589.00

 5

$445.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$678.00

 6

$534.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$767.00

 7

$623.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$856.00

 8

$712.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$945.00

 9

$801.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1034.00

10

$890.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1123.00

11

$979.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1212.00

12

$1068.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1301.00

13

$1157.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1390.00

14

$1246.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1479.00

15

$1335.00

$78.00

$105.00

$50.00

$1568.00

A full time student is twelve credit hours or more; less than 12 credit hours is considered part-time.

*FEES: The fee column above represents a combination of registration, accident insurance, and student activity fees.

 

Additional Fees

Application (one time, non refunable)   $20.00  
Health Science/ECCE/Cosmetology Liability Insurance*   $13.00  
EMT and Paramedicine Liability Insurance   $55.00  
Late Registration Fee   $45.00  
Return Check Fee   $30.00  
Graduation Fee (payable with last semester fees)   $35.00  
Diploma Replacement Fee   $25.00  
Test Fee   25% of tuition cost for the course  
Retest Fee (per Admissions Placement Exam section)   $15.00  
Transcript Fee   $5.00  

*Required for all Early Childhood Education, Cosmetology and Health Occupations students, except EMT, AEMT and Paramedicine students per year.

Tuition Rate (Out-of-state vs. In-State)

Out-of-state students will pay tuition at twice the rate of Georgia residents. Florida residents living in Leon, Jefferson, and Gadsden counties are not subject to out-of-state tuition. Due to a reciprocal agreement, Alabama students are not subject to out-of-state tuition. Southwest Georgia Technical College is not approved to serve international students. 

Effective January 1, 2012, all students applying for in-state tuition must provide validation of lawful presence in the United States. The following documents will serve as proof of lawful presence in the United States and documentation will be required before you are eligible for consideration of in-state tuition:


• A current Driver's License issued by the State of Georgia after January 1, 2008.
• A current ID issued by the State of Georgia after January 1, 2008.
• A current Driver’s License or ID issued by a state that verifies immigration status and only issues to persons lawfully present in the United States. See list of compliant states at http://law.ga.gov/vgn/images/portal/cit_1210/50/35/173461453Lists_of_states_that_verify_immigration_status_7_26_11.pdf
• A certified U.S. Birth Certificate showing the student was born in the U.S. or a U.S. territory. A photocopy is not acceptable
• An approved completed FAFSA for the current financial aid year. 
• A current, valid Permanent Resident Card (USCIS form 1-151 or 1-551).
• A U.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad issued by the Department of State (DS-1350) or a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-240)
• A current U.S. Passport.
• A U.S. Certificate of Citizenship (USCIS form N-560 or N-561).
• A U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (USCIS form N-550 or N-570).

Any student who cannot be verified as lawfully present in the United States is not eligible to be considered for in-state tuition, regardless of how long he or she has lived in Georgia. In addition to being lawfully present in the United States, students must meet the in-state tuition requirements as outlined in TCSG Board Policy and Procedure V.B.3 to warrant an in-state classification. Students that are initially classified as out-of-state, and successfully petition to have their residency changed to in-state also have to meet the verification requirement.

 

Application Fee

Applicants for a credit course or program are charged a one time, nonrefundable $20.00 application fee.

 

Late Registration Fee

Any student who does not register and pay for classes by the designated time will be charged a late fee of $30.00.

 

Books, Tools, and Uniforms

Textbooks are required in all programs and some programs require the purchase of new books each semester. The cost of textbooks will vary among programs and may increase without prior notice.

Tools are required in some programs, particularly in the skilled and technical programs. The tools are the property of the student and are essential to the occupational field for which they are training. Total cost will vary among programs. Each student will be given a list of the necessary tools, equipment, and kits that will be required of them.

Uniforms are required in some programs. Students will be notified when to purchase uniforms and arrangements will be made by the instructor to facilitate the purchase.

 

Transcript Fee

Students are entitled to receive transcripts upon written request. Transcripts may require two business days to process. Transcripts will not be released until all “Holds” are removed. There is a $5.00 charge for each transcript.

 

Other Records Requests

The National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) is now Southwest Georgia Technical College's authorized agent for providing degree and enrollment verifications. Employers or background screening firms requesting degree verifications may contact the NSC directly at www.degreeverify.com. Anyone needing an enrollment verification may request one in writing from the Student Affairs office, or they may go to www.studentclearinghouse.org.

 

Senior Citizen

Residents of Georgia who are 62 years of age or older may request a tuition waiver. If tuition is waived under this policy, admission will be granted only on a space available basis. Proof of age must be presented at registration to receive a tuition waiver. This policy applies to regular and institutional credit courses only. It does not apply to continuing education courses, non-credit courses, or seminars.

 

Adult Education

Students attending the Adult Education programs will not be charged tuition fees or any other charges, or be required to purchase any books or any other materials that are needed for participation in the program.

 

Registration Fee

The Registration Fee includes such items as parking permit, registration, accident insurance, student activity, and transcript fees.

 

Insurance

All students are required to participate in a group accident insurance policy provided by the school. The cost for this insurance is part of the registration fee.

 

Liability Insurance

This fee is required of all students who are enrolled in an Early Childhood Education, Cosmetology or Health Science program and will be attending practicum or clinical training at an affiliating clinical site. This fee is to provide for liability insurance. The fee is charged at registration for the quarter in which practicum begins and each July thereafter. Please Note: This may mean students in some programs will be assessed twice within one calendar year.

 

Graduation Fee

The Graduation Fee is payable with last quarter fees by all credit students. It covers such items as caps and gowns, honor cords, invitations, rental of facility, and diploma tubes and the privilege of participating in the ceremony.

 

Refund Policy

In keeping with the state-wide enrollment processing policy from the Technical College System of Georgia, Southwest Georgia Technical College implemented a three (3) instructional day drop, 100% refund period, and a seven (7) calendar day add period at the beginning of each quarter. Students have the first three days of each quarter to drop any or all of the courses they are registered for. If students drop course(s) during this period, they will receive a 100% refund of all tuition and applicable fees, will not earn a "W" grade in the class and not have any hours counted against their financial aid cap. If students drop any course(s) after the third instructional day of the quarter, they will receive no refund, will earn a "W" grade and will have the credit hours count against their financial aid cap.

Refunds, when due, will be made without requiring a request from the student.

Refunds, when due, will be made within thirty (30) days (1) of the last day of attendance if written notification has been provided to the College by the student, or (2) from the date the College terminates the student or determines withdrawal by the student.

Tuition refunds for students receiving benefits through the Department of Veterans' Affairs will be prorated over the length of the course.

nimblecmsan NTS product